Marion DUI/DUAC Defense Attorneys

If you have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving with an unlawful alcohol concentration (DUAC) in South Carolina, you likely have a lot of questions and concerns over what to do next. Because these charges are serious, it’s important to contact a lawyer as soon as possible so you can understand your position.

Hiring a lawyer to defend you in a DUI or DUAC case is extremely important if you wish to minimize the negative consequences it can have on your life. If you’re convicted, you could lose your driver’s license, be forced to pay heavy fines, or even spend time in jail. Don’t put yourself in a more uncertain situation by representing yourself. Hiring an experienced criminal defense lawyer is your best opportunity for getting the results you need. Contact the skilled Marion DUI defense attorneys at Law Office of William J. Luse, Inc. Accident & Injury Lawyers today by calling (843) 839-4795 or reaching out to us online to schedule an initial consultation.

Do I Need a Lawyer for My DUI or DUAC Case?

South Carolina works under the “implied consent” law, meaning that by being a driver in the state, you automatically consent to a breath, blood, or urine test if you’re suspected of driving while under the influence. This usually means a breathalyzer test. If you are caught with a blood alcohol content (BAC) at or above .15%, you’re likely to lose your license for at least a few months, though it depends on how many times you’ve been convicted of a DUI or DUAC. To be convicted of DUAC, the prosecution has to prove that you were driving with a BAC of .08% or above, which is the legal limit for blood alcohol content when operating a motor vehicle.

The penalties for these charges are serious. A first conviction can lead to as many as 90 days’ jail time, a $2,500 fine, and a license suspension of six months. Sometimes ignition interlocks are placed in your car, or your car is taken away entirely. Second offenses are more severe and could land you in jail for an entire year. When the stakes are so high, there’s no time to waste in securing the services of an experienced, trustworthy lawyer to defend you.

A lawyer might be able to reduce your penalties by proving that the test administered at your arrest was inaccurate. However, if you believe that is the case, trying to prove so on your own is unlikely to be successful. A lawyer can also help you get a provisional or a restricted license, so you can have at least some driving ability. Attempting to be your own criminal justice lawyer is not recommended due to the complicated nature of the laws and the improbability of reducing your own penalties.

Why Choose Us?

At Law Office of William J. Luse, Inc. Accident & Injury Lawyers, we are dedicated to providing you with excellent, intensive representation for your case. We know you’re going through a difficult and confusing time, and we want to help you get the best outcome you can when it’s all over. We’ve handled hundreds of cases like yours, and we know how to get results. For us, clients always come first, and we want you to feel confident and at ease. One mistake can cost you a lot – your finances, your health, and sometimes even your freedom. We want to help you move forward with your life by making your case as painless as possible and getting you the best possible results for your situation.

When you’re charged with a DUI or a DUAC, you only have a short amount of time to request a hearing and start taking control of your situation. Luckily, we’re prepared to help you every step of the way. By contacting Law Office of William J. Luse, Inc. Accident & Injury Lawyers to handle your case, you’re ensuring that nothing is overlooked. We will discover every detail of your case and present the facts in the way that most benefits you. Our firm understands that you’re scared, you’re stressed, and that you may be unsure of your rights, and we want to make sure that you are given all the information you need to help you feel prepared. Don’t wait. Call Law Office of William J. Luse, Inc. Accident & Injury Lawyers at (843) 839-4795 today for a legal consultation.

Cases We Handle

We have tackled many types of criminal defense cases, including DUI and DUAC cases from people with situations just like yours. If you have been charged with a DUI, there is a chance you’ve also been charged with vehicular manslaughter, reckless driving, or other affiliated charges. You may also be dealing with negligence charges from other affected drivers. Trying to juggle insurance companies, lawyers, and court hearings is too much for one person to handle, especially after a traumatizing accident. At Law Office of William J. Luse, Inc. Accident & Injury Lawyers, we’re prepared to take everything about your case into account when defending you. We handle all types of DUI cases and will do all we can to give you quality legal representation that will get results.

Frequently Asked Questions

Law Office of William J. Luse, Inc. Accident & Injury Lawyers is here to help you understand your rights if you’ve been arrested and charged with a DUI or DUAC in Marion. Contact us to discuss your case and read a few of our frequently asked questions below.

What is the difference between a DUI and a DUAC?

In the state of South Carolina, both DUIs and DUACs are crimes pertaining to drinking and driving. To be convicted of a DUI, the prosecution has to prove that you were operating a motor vehicle while impaired. In other states, the legal BAC limit of .08% is considered to be stand-alone evidence that the driver was impaired. In South Carolina, however, the driver’s BAC is presented to juries as part of the full range of evidence in a DUI case, which can also include video footage and testimonies from arresting officers and witnesses. Noticeably impaired driving is enough to land you a DUI charge, even if your BAC is below .08%. Additionally, you may be charged with a DUAC even if you were not necessarily pulled over for noticeably impaired driving. As long as your BAC is above the legal level, you can be charged with a DUAC.

Can I be charged with a DUI for driving under the influence of drugs?

Yes. Driving under the influence applies to both prescription or over-the-counter medications and illegal drugs. Essentially, if something you take affects your ability to drive, you can be charged with a DUI. Remember, a DUI is about driving impairment, not necessarily BAC. If a police officer notices you driving erratically, or if another driver calls it in, the officer is likely to check you for signs of alcohol or drugs in your system. It’s always best to stay off the roads after taking any sort of substance that might impair your driving ability.

Can I be charged with a DUI for driving a boat under the influence?

Yes. Boating under the influence as well as operating any sort of motor vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal in the state of South Carolina and can be prosecuted just like a standard drinking and driving case.

Will a DUI stay on my permanent record?

Yes. Currently, South Carolina laws do not allow DUIs to be taken off of criminal records, and they will show up on background checks as well as long as you were “booked” (fingerprinted, checked in) to a jail at the time of your arrest.

I was arrested for a DUI. What’s next?

It’s important to remember that being arrested for a DUI is not the same as being convicted, meaning you still have the opportunity to request a license hearing and fight for your driving privileges. A lawyer can help you file the proper paperwork and meet deadlines to give you the best chance of avoiding the full penalties that can come with conviction. It is easy to become overwhelmed and miss important information, which is why a lawyer is an invaluable asset during a DUI case.

Can I still drive in my home state if I was arrested for a DUI in South Carolina?

You will still be able to drive in the state you live in before you are convicted of a DUI in South Carolina. At that point, South Carolina will likely inform your home state of your conviction, which will result in a suspension of your license at home, too. However, a lawyer will sometimes be able to fight for some regained driving privileges. It’s very important not to wait to discuss your options with a lawyer so that you don’t miss important deadlines in your case.

Contact Us

If you’re concerned about your future because of a DUI or DUAC, hiring an experienced lawyer is the best thing for you to do. At Law Office of William J. Luse, Inc. Accident & Injury Lawyers, we will work aggressively to get the best possible outcome for your case so that you can move on with your life. Don’t put it off any longer. If you are facing a DUI or a DUAC charge, contact Law Office of William J. Luse, Inc. Accident & Injury Lawyers at (843) 839-4795 for your legal consultation.

Get the Help you Need today!

Contact Us for a confidential case evaluation.